top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureDerya Kelnebioglu

Going down for real...

Updated: Feb 11, 2018

Welcome to my third blog. In this blog post I will tell you about my one-day trip to Brian Head in Utah. Where I learned how to ski and how I failed this many time.


Skiing for the first time! As I mentioned earlier in my previous blogs, I do a lot of things here for the first time. This is one again. Thank God I was not alone this time. This was a new experience for many students.


5 tips for getting ready for skiing


1. Fitness

Do not be as lazy as me. Go to the gym a few times a week. Build up your condition because you are going to need it. You do not only need this to ski, but also to visit all the national parks. It goes fast without any condition. Therefore, train yourself a few months in advance before you leave. Be prepared. Think of a healthy lifestyle. If you want to know everything about a healthy lifestyle, take a look at MyFitnessPal. It’s an app that easily lets you track your food intake and fitness activities to help you reach your goals.



2. Flexibility

To improve your ski performance, it is important to develop your flexibility. This will help get no ill effects, while your falling a lot on your first day skiing. Don’t forget to warm up and do a simple stretch before you ski, then the preparation you did before will pay off.


3. Boots

If you don’t already own your own equipment, buy first your boots. A lot of ski resorts has a rental place where you can that all of the necessary equipment. When hiring, ask for a different boot if the first one is too tight or too big. My boots were in the beginning much too tight, so it seemed that there was no more blood flowing to my toes. A good boots ensures that you will last longer.


4. Skis

If you have your own skis, make sure they are serviced. At the Brian Head resort offer professional skis, and snowboard tuning, waxing, repairs, and carry a large supply of replacement parts for major brands. If your curios about their rental pricing take a look on their website.


5. Clothing

"A job well conceived is a job half done"

We in the Netherlands have an old saying that a job well conceived is a job half done. So that's what I did! A good ski suit can make the difference between skiing the whole day in comfort and giving up before lunch. At TK Maxx in Cedar City, Utah you can get good leggings and vests for a low price. This is ideal for students who do not want to spend too much.


Fear of making an idiot of yourself is the single biggest turn-off for beginner skiers, so here are ten things to do before your first ski trip.


Get inspired

In my fourth blog I will tell you about my trip to the Grand Canyon and guess what that is also my first time.


Are you curious about my upcoming weeks in America? Keep following me on social media.

54 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page