top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureDerya Kelnebioglu

Chicago...

Updated: Apr 20, 2018

Welcome to my fifth blog. In this blog post, I will tell you more about my weekend in Chicago. Also called the windy city.


In February I went to Chicago with my best friend Ellen. This was by far one of my most favorite trips.


During just a normal lunch at school we made the decision to go to Chicago. We quickly booked a weekend to go and explore. Not because we had to, but because it was possible! That is what happens when you are in America for just six months. A coming and going of spontaneous journeys.


I must confess that I had never heard of Chicago before. But after this trip I will never forget this great city again.


The trip

At the beginning of our trip we almost missed the shuttle to Las Vegas. We almost missed the opportunity to catch our flight to Chicago. To make a long story short, we made it to the bus to the airport just in time. I’ll leave the whole story behind.


A short flight of four hours from Las Vegas to Chicago. Survived! We quickly took a Uber to our first motel, called Motel 6. We only stayed one night here. Normally you do not expect much from a motel, but I must tell you that our stay was excellent. The only drawback I found was the long distance to downtown. In our case that didn’t have a big impact, because we only stayed here for a day.


The second day we stayed in a hotel in downtown, near the Cloud Gate. The Cloud Gate is one of the most famous places in Chicago. Many tourists also call this "The Bean". After having a long photoshoot, because you want to have Instagram worthy photos, we went on to the Michigan Avenue. This is the main shopping street in Chicago.


On our last day we took the Uber to the Navy Pier. Despite the weather, it was wonderful to make a stop there. During our trip we had all weather conditions in 3 days time. From snow, to rain, sun and a lot of wind. It is not called the windy city for nothing.



The Deep dish pizza

If you are in Chicago, then you cannot resist to try a deep dish pizza. It is a good idea to ask the locals for a good restaurant, because these are the great secrets you do not usually find very easily on the internet. A lot of local residents indicated Pizano's Pizza & Pasta. Pizano's Pizza & Pasta has an extensive menu of delicious pizzas and pastas that you can enjoy. I found the deep dish pizza to be really good. On the other hand, I did have the best buffalo wings at Pizano's. They were delicious!!


Top 10 attractions in Chicago

1. Millenium Park

2. Navy Pier

3. Art institue of Chicago

4. Shedd aquarium

5. The field museum

6. Museum of science and industry

7. Adler planetarium

8. Willis Tower

9. Michigan Avenue

10. 360 Chicago


Get inspired

Are you curious about my upcoming weeks in America? Keep following me on social media.

52 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page