top of page
  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle
  • YouTube - Black Circle
  • Writer's pictureDerya Kelnebioglu

The awesome students from SUU…

Hello! Welcome to my blog. In this blog, I will talk to you about the International Student Ambassadors.


They are a group on campus that works with the international students. They plan events and are there to greet new students as they move in. They all love the world and getting to know new people excites them.


This is Alex Curtis. He is from Castledale, Utah and is an avid outdoorsman. Alex spent a summer in Chile and recently got back from Costa Rica. He loves the world, but he says his heart belongs in Latin America. When asked about being an ISA he said he loves it because, “They are an amazing group full of welcoming, helpful and diverse people.” Costa Rica Video

This is Alexie Castro from Denver, Colorado. She is an avid traveler! Since beginning to travel abroad in 2015, she has traveled to 6 countries. Belgium, France, England, Netherlands, Denmark and Costa Rica. This summer she plans to add Spain and Italy to her list. When asked about being an ISA she said, “I love getting to know all different kinds of people. I help them get acclimated to the U.S. and they teach me about their culture and themselves. All of the people I consider my best friends aren’t American.”

This is Thierry Morel from Abidjan, Côte d’Ivoire. He came to the United States barely knowing English but found a home away from home with the ambassadors. He gets to represent his country with pride and help students that he can identify with because he was in their shoes before. When asked about being an ISA he said, “I get to be friends with people from all over the world and broaden my perspectives”.


The entire group has stories similar to these. Most of them have had experience in other countries and that is used to their advantage. The ones that have not been out of the country are very eager to learn.


They are a fantastic group of people to meet coming to America for the first time. So welcoming and understanding, making you feel right at home. They did it for me and will do it for incoming internationals for years to come.


Get inspired

Are you curious about my upcoming weeks in America? Keep following me on social media.

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page